NHS vanguard factsheets

These factsheets have been developed in collaboration with NHS Clinical Commissioners, the Local Government Association, and NHS Confederation to help health and care staff, patients and the public gain a better understanding of the motivations of the vanguard programme.

There are currently 50 vanguards across the country, grouped under five new care models, which are explained in the factsheets. These new care models are:

Acute care collaboration

Linking local hospitals together to link their clinical and financial viability

Urgent and emergency care

New approaches to improve the coordination of services and reduce pressure on A&E departments

Enhanced health in care homes

Offering older people better, joined up health, care and rehabilitation services

Multispeciality community providers

Moving specialist care out of hospitals and into the community

Integrated primary and acute care systems

Joining up GP, hospitals, community and mental health services