The Governor advisory committee

Governors are represented at NHS Providers through an elected Governor Advisory Committee (GAC) consisting of eight governors and one foundation trust chair. The committee meets quarterly and meetings are overseen by a chair that has been voted in by the committee. Term of office is three years.

GAC members provide oversight and feedback on our work and areas that require debate and action. They will have the opportunity to help shape the governor services we provide to our members such as our GovernWell training programme, annual Governor Focus conference, in-house training and guidance resources.

Governor advisory committee: call for nominations

 Current members of the Governor advisory committee are:

  • Peter Abell, Doncaster and Bassetlaw Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust – acute services constituency
  • Anne Carlile, Northumberland, Tyne and Wear NHS Foundation Trust – patient/carer/service user constituency
  • Pauline Garnett, Bradford Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust – staff governor constituency
  • John Jones, Essex Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust – mental health services constituency
  • Chris Roberts, Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust – community services constituency
  • Suzy Brain England OBE, Chair, Doncaster and Bassetlaw Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust – chair representative
  • Miriam Deakin, Director of Policy and Strategy, NHS Providers (non voting member) 
  • Vacancy - ambulance services constituency
  • Vacancy - any category constituency
  • Vacancy - public governor constituency

How can I get involved?

We hold elections for positions on our GAC every three years. The next elections will take place in late 2020/early 2021.

Alternatively, if you wish to get in touch with the governor advisory committee please contact

Why should I stand to become a GAC member?

Our GAC has a demonstrable impact on the work we do. It offers the chance to influence and help shape the services we offer to governors.

Committed to continuous improvement, GAC members identify areas of debate and action and contribute in a number of ways – by inputting into our governor e-newsletter, governor presentations and providing valuable feedback on our resources.

The committee meets four times a year, and offers a chance to network and share insights on good practice across member trusts.

Previous Governor advisory committee elections

The most recent GAC elections for the new committee took place in January 2018 with voting closing on Monday 30 April 2018. The election was supported by Electoral Reform Services (ERS). Each foundation trust was able to nominate one governor to stand for election to one of eight governor positions.

Votes were cast by the single transferable vote system (STV), designed to achieve proportional representation, through ranking candidates in order of preference. For further details on the voting process, you can view our STV diagram and brochure.

Download the report of voting to see the full results.

Download here


For more information on the GAC please contact

We use cookies to ensure you have the best possible experience on our website. By continuing we’ll assume that you are happy to receive them. Read our updated privacy and cookie policy. Close