Five year forward view: governance

The partner organisations which jointly authored the Five year forward view (5YFV) have established a governance structure to oversee its delivery.

This includes collective leadership and oversight by all seven arm's length bodies, eight programme-specific boards, each chaired by an arm's length body, and three independently chaired, time-limited task forces.

NHS Providers is represented on several of the boards, as well as the 5YFV coalition, a stakeholder group convened to support implementation and hold NHS partners to account for delivery of their 5YFV commitments.

Five year forward view boards

Chief executive board
This Includes the Department of Health, NHS England, Monitor, TDA, CQC, Public Health England, NICE and Health Education England (HEE). Chaired by each of the chief executives on a rotating basis.
This is a decision-making board, consisting of the chief executives of the partner organisations that authored the 5YFV and other bodies responsible for delivery. The board has oversight of the other 5YFV boards:

New care models board
Led by Monitor and NHS England. Chaired by Ian Dodge and Adrian Masters.
Chris Hopson, chief executive, represents NHS Providers.

Workforce advisory board
Led by HEE. Chaired by Ian Cumming.
Chris Hopson, chief executive, represents NHS Providers.

Finance/efficiency board
Led by the Department of Health. Chaired by David Williams.
Chris Hopson, chief executive, represents NHS Providers.

Prevention board
Led by Public Health England. Chaired by Duncan Selbie.
Saffron Cordery, director of policy and strategy, represents NHS Providers.

National Information Board
Led by NHS England. Chaired by Tim Kelsey.
Siva Anandaciva, head of analysis, represents NHS Providers.

National Quality Board
Led by CQC and NHS England. Chaired by Sir Bruce Keogh and Sir Mike Richards.

Success regime board
Led by TDA. Chaired by Bob Alexander. 

People and communities board
Chaired by Jeremy Taylor, National Voices.

Five year forward view task forces

Mental health task force
Chaired by Paul Farmer, Mind.

Maternity task force
Chaired by Baroness Cumberlege.

Cancer task force
Chaired by Harpal Kumar, Cancer Research UK.

We use cookies to ensure you have the best possible experience on our website. By continuing we’ll assume that you are happy to receive them. Read our updated privacy and cookie policy. Close