On 23 June 2016 the UK voted to leave the European Union. In March 2017, then prime minister Theresa May, invoked Article 50 of the Lisbon Treaty, triggering negotiations on the terms of the UK’s withdrawal and the nature of its future relationship with the EU.

A deal was agreed in November 2018 but this was not passed by parliament, resulting in an extension to the Article 50 process, the resignation of Theresa May and the appointment of Boris Johnson. Mr Johnson negotiated a revised deal and although the associated bill passed its second reading in the House of Commons, parliament did not approve the condensed timetable for the remaining stages.

A further Article 50 extension was granted in October 2019 and, the government now both committed to delivering Brexit and with a significant parliamentary minority, a general election was called. The current date for the UK to leave the EU is 31 January 2020.











We use cookies to ensure you have the best possible experience on our website. By continuing we’ll assume that you are happy to receive them. Read our updated privacy and cookie policy. Close