

Briefing on the new shadow cabinet and ministerial team

Sir Keir Starmer has carried out a reshuffle of the shadow cabinet and ministerial team. Of the 31 shadow cabinet members, 15 are in a new job or have major new responsibilities. This reshuffle signals Labour's continuing preparations for the next general election, by bringing back MPs with experience of being in government and bringing shadow cabinet roles in line with the current machinery of government.

Key appointments include a promotion for Deputy Leader Angela Rayner, who becomes Deputy Prime Minister and Shadow Levelling Up Secretary, and a promotion for Liz Kendall who moves from Shadow Minister for Social Care to Shadow Secretary of State for Work and Pensions.

This briefing sets out:

- 1. The new shadow health and social care team
- 2. Biographies of the new health and social care ministers
- 3. Other key appointments from a health and social care perspective.
- 4. Full list of shadow cabinet appointments.

NHS Providers has written to the new ministers for primary care and public health and women's health and mental health.

1. Shadow health and social care team

Wes Streeting retains his role as Shadow Secretary of State for Health and Social Care. Karin Smyth, Andrew Gwynne and Feryal Clarke remain in the team. Andrew Gwynne and Karin Smyth have changed roles to become deputies to Wes, with Andrew taking on Social Care and Karin becoming Shadow Minister for Health. Rosena Allin-Khan resigned from the mental health role after it was moved from attending the shadow cabinet. The team in the Lords remains the same.



House of Commons



Wes Streeting
MP
Shadow
Secretary of
State for
Health and
Social Care



Karin Smyth MP Shadow Minister for Health



Andrew Gwynne MP Shadow Minister for Social Care



Preet Gill MP
Shadow
Minister for
Primary Care
and Public
Health



Abena Oppong-Asare MP Shadow Minister for Women's Health and Mental Health



Feryal Clark MP Shadow Minister for Health (on maternity leave)

House of Lords



Baroness Merron Shadow spokesperson



2. Biographies of new health and social care shadow ministers

Preet Gill, Shadow Minister for Primary Care and Public Health

Labour (Co-op) MP for Birmingham, Edgbaston since June 2017, re-elected in 2019 with a majority of 5.614

- Parliamentary career
- Home Affairs Committee, 2017-2018



- Shadow Minister for International Development, Jan 2018-April 2020
- Shadow Secretary of State for International Development, Apr 2020-Nov 2021
- Shadow Minister for International Development, Nov 2021-Sept 2023

Previous career

- West Midlands Police and Crime Panel
- Sandwell Health and Wellbeing Board
- Director, Spring Social Housing Board
- Bank Inspector, Care Quality Commission
- Midland Joint Advisory Council for Clean Air and Noise Control
- Midland Joint Advisory Council for Environmental Protection
- West Midlands Combined Authority Board

Abena Oppong-Asare, Shadow Minister for Women's Health and Mental Health

Labour MP for Erith and Thamesmead since December 2019, elected with a majority of 3,758

Parliamentary career

- Parliamentary Private Secretary to Luke Pollard, Shadow Environment Secretary, Jan 2020-Apr 2020
- Parliamentary Private Secretary to Anneliese Dodds, Shadow Chancellor, Apr 2020-Oct 2020
- Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury Bridget Phillipson, May 2020-Oct 2020
- Shadow Exchequer Secretary, Oct 2020-Sept 2023

Previous career

- Constituency Liaison Officer for Labour Minister
- Research Support Officer Research Policy Lead on Equalities, Greater London Authority
- Grenfell Community Liaison Manager (on secondment from the GLA)

3. Other key appointments from a health and care perspective

Darren Jones, Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury

Labour MP for Bristol North West since June 2017, re-elected in 2019 with a majority of 5,692

Jones was a clinical auditor at NHS England for eight years (2002-2011) and sat on the board of Plymouth University NHS Foundation Trust.

Parliamentary career



- European Scrutiny Committee, 2017-2019
- Parliamentary Private Secretary to Shadow Secretary of State for Justice David Lammy, April-May 2020
- Science, Innovation and Technology Committee, 2020–2021
- Chair of the Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee, May 2020-Sept 2023 (renamed Business and Trade Committee from Mar 2023)
- Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy, May 2020-
- Joint Committee on the draft Online Safety Bill, Jul 2021-
- Liaison Sub-Committee on the Scrutiny of Government Strategic Thinking, June 2023-

Angela Rayner, Deputy Leader, Shadow Deputy Prime Minister and Shadow Secretary of State for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities

Labour MP for Ashton-under-Lyne since May 2015, re-elected in 2019 with a majority of 4,236

Parliamentary career

- Levelling Up, Housing and Communities Committee, 2015-2015
- Opposition Whip, Sept 2015-Jan 2016
- Shadow Work and Pensions Minister, Jan 2016-June 2016
- Shadow Minister for Women and Equalities, June 2016-Oct 2016
- Shadow Secretary of State for Education, July 2016-April 2020
- Chair of the Labour Party, April 2020-May 2021
- Deputy Leader of the Labour Party, April 2020-
- Shadow First Secretary of State, Shadow Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster and Shadow Secretary of State for the Future of Work, Dec 2021-Sept 2023

4. Full list of shadow cabinet ministers

Leader of the Opposition	Keir Starmer
Deputy Leader, Shadow Deputy Prime Minister	Angela Rayner
and Shadow Secretary of State for Levelling Up,	
Housing and Communities	
Shadow Chancellor of the Exchequer	Rachel Reeves
Shadow Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster	Pat McFadden
and National Campaign Coordinator	
Shadow Secretary of State for Education	Bridget Phillipson



Shadow Secretary of State for the Home	Yvette Cooper
Department	
Shadow Secretary of State for Health and Social	Wes Streeting
Care	
Shadow Secretary of State for Energy Security	Ed Miliband
and Net Zero	
Shadow Secretary of State for Foreign,	David Lammy
Commonwealth and Development Affairs	
Shadow Minister without Portfolio (Cabinet	Nick Thomas-Symonds
Office)	
Shadow Paymaster General (Cabinet Office)	Jonathan Ashworth
Shadow Secretary of State for Justice	Shabana Mahmood
Shadow Secretary of State for Business and	Jonathan Reynolds
Trade	
Shadow Secretary of State for Work and	Liz Kendall
Pensions	
Shadow Secretary of State for Defence	John Healey
Shadow Secretary of State for Transport	Louise Haigh
Shadow Secretary of State for Culture, Media	Thangam Debbonaire
and Sport	
Shadow Secretary of State for Women and	Anneliese Dodds
Equalities, Party Chair and Chair of Labour	
Policy Review	
Shadow Secretary of State for Environment,	Steve Reed
Food and Rural Affairs	
Shadow Secretary of State for Science,	Peter Kyle
Innovation and Technology	
Shadow Secretary of State for Northern Ireland	Hilary Benn
Shadow Secretary of State for Scotland	lan Murray
Shadow Secretary of State for Wales	Jo Stevens
Shadow Attorney General	Emily Thornberry
Shadow Cabinet Minister for International	Lisa Nandy
Development	
Shadow Chief Secretary to HM Treasury	Darren Jones
Deputy National Campaign Coordinator	Ellie Reeves



Shadow Leader of the House of Commons	Lucy Powell
Opposition Chief Whip in the House of	Alan Campbell
Commons	
Shadow Leader of the House of Lords	Baroness Angela Smith
Opposition Chief Whip in the House of Lords	Lord Roy Kennedy