The Governor advisory committee

Governors are represented at NHS Providers through an elected Governor Advisory Committee (GAC) consisting of eight governors and two foundation trust chairs.

The committee meets quarterly and meetings are overseen by a chair that has been voted in by the committee. Terms of office are three years.

GAC members provide oversight and feedback on our work and areas that require debate and action. They will have the opportunity to help shape the governor services we provide to our members such as our GovernWell training programme, annual Governor Focus conference, bespoke training and guidance resources.

Current members of the Governor Advisory Committee include:

  • Robert Alabaster, North East Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust – Ambulance constituency
  • Khalid Ali, Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust - Public governor
  • Maurice Alston, Governor Hampshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Fances Blunden, Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust - Acute constituency (Frances chairs the governor policy board)
  • Sue Davis, Chair, Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust - Chair representative
  • Peta Foxall, Royal Devon and Exeter NHS Foundation Trust - Stakeholder governor constituency
  • John Jones, South Essex Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust – Community constituency
  • Dr Nick Marsden, Salisbury Hospital NHS Foundation Trust - Chair representative
  • Chris Howarth, Ashford & St Peter's Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust - Appointed governor
  • Roy Underwood, Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust - Staff governor constituency
  • Edward Waite, Royal Brompton and Harefield NHS Foundation Trust – Patient/service user/carer constituency
  • The director lead for this programme is Ben Clacy, Director of Operations and Development, NHS Providers

Find out more about the impact of our Governor Advisory Committee.

Governor advisory committee elections

Elections for governor members of our Governor Advisory Committee are now under way. Each foundation trust will be able to nominate one governor to stand for election to one of eight governor positions. 

Once nominations have taken place, voting for candidates opens. Voting papers will be sent electronically by email to trust secretaries that will be able to download candidate information to share with governors. To find out more please read our FAQs.

It has been drawn to our attention that not all of our communications regarding the elections have reached all Trusts. Following advice from ERS, our election provider, we have decided to extend the period for votes to be cast by one month. Elections will now close at noon on Monday 30 April 2018. The results will be posted on our website on Friday 4 May. 

We use cookies to ensure you have the best possible experience on our website. By continuing we’ll assume that you are happy to receive them. Close